Australia Regional Laws

Australia flag and scales of justiceAustralia’s gambling laws can regulate the entire gambling market on a national level through federal legislation while still allowing states to determine their own local provincial laws and regulations. Provincial gambling laws are also known as regional laws which differ in regulation per territory; internationally, countries practicing state v federal ideology also permit regional regulations in their gambling laws. Australia contains eight distinct territories, each with their own established local gambling laws.

Why Regional Laws Exist

Each of the eight Australian regions are distinctly claimed and through the rights granted by the Australian government, each territory may pass legislation to regulate gambling offers and other state claims. Residents and visitors to each territory must understand each zone’s regulations are as valid and enforceable as a national law. Therefore, the understanding and compliance of each territory’s regional laws will prevent individuals from violating regional legislation and penalization.

What Do Regional Laws Control?

The Australian Commonwealth Parliament granted states their right to implement their own laws regarding gambling regulations on the local level. Regions are thus permitted to prohibit or permit certain gambling offers and are able to restrict certain aspects of each available gambling form. Most regions have regulation differences concerning licensing requirements, taxation, licensing fees, and appropriate approved number of gambling facilities and devices within their region.

Limitations of Regional Legislation

Territories may not create laws which challenge federal level legislation. For example, no state may legalize online interactive gambling because it was made illegal by the IGA for domestic-based online operators and Interactive Gambling Amendment Bill 2016 for offshore licensed operators. Currently, licensed offshore interactive gambling operators are not considered legal by the Federal Australian Commonwealth law unless the operator also obtains a license by an approved Aussie regulator.

Australian Territories and Their Laws

Australia’s eight territories can be identified below along with a list of their corresponding and active gambling legislation, of which there are 54 independent regional laws combined:

Australian Capital Territory: Betting Act of 1964, Pool Betting Act 1964, Interactive Gambling Act 1998, Lotteries Act 1964, Racing Act 1999, Race and Sports Bookmaking Act 2001, Gaming Machine Act 2004, Casino Control Act 2006, Casino Control Regulation 2006, Gambling and Racing Control 2002

New South Wales: Lotteries and Art Unions Act 1901, Charitable Fundraising Act 1991, Casino Control Act 1992, Public Lotteries Act 1996, Gambling Act 1998, Racing Administration Act 1998, Betting Tax Act 2001, Gaming Machines Act 2001, Gaming Machines Tax Act 2001, Gaming and Liquor Administration Act 2007, Liquor Act 2007

Northern Territory: Gaming Control Act, Gaming Machine Act, Racing and Betting Act, Unlawful Betting Act

Queensland: Casino Control Act 1982, Jupiter’s Casino Agreement Act 1983, Breakwater Island Casino Agreement Act 1984, Gaming Machine Act 1991, Brisbane Casino Agreement Act 1992, Cairns Casino Agreement Act 1993, Keno Act 1996, Lotteries Act 1997, Wagering Act 1998, Charitable and Non-Profit Gaming Act 1999

Southern Australia: Lottery and Gaming Act 1936, State Lotteries Act 1966, Gaming Machines Act 1992, Casino Act 1997, Authorised Betting Operations Act 2000, Gambling Codes of Practice Notice 2013

Tasmania: Gaming Control Act 1993 and the TT-Line Gaming Act 1993

Victoria: Casino Control Act 1991, Casino (Management Agreement) Act 1993, Gambling Regulation Act 2003, Victorian Commission for Gambling and Regulation Act 2011, Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation Act 2011

Western Australia: Betting Control Act 1954, Bookmakers Betting Levy Act 1954, Casino Control Act 1984, Casino (Burswood Island) Agreement Act 1985, Gaming and Betting (Contracts and Securities) Act 1985, Gaming and Wagering Commission Act 1987